Posted by: ramblinmanjimj | June 24, 2009

Here’s what brought me to live in WA in 1980…

Yesterday Mary and I drove the motorhome approximately 100 miles from Ocean City, WA to Lacey, WA. Along the way we saw this sight from Highway 8.

Picture
The two 480′ cooling towers as seen from Highway 8 in Elma, WA.

Those are two 480′ high cooling towers from the unfinished Satsop Nuclear Power Station which was to house two nuclear reactors to produce electricity. I went to work there in March 1980 as the Quality Control Manager for the electrical contractor. For a number of reasons, I quit my job in August, 1981. In addition, I could see the handwriting on the wall…in 1983, Washington Public Power defaulted on 2.25 billion dollars in bonds closing down construction of both plants forever. Here’s two information links:
http://ludb.clui.org/ex/i/WA3288/
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/living/2002177879_satsop13.html

In Lacey, we are securely parked in the backyard of my ex-neighbors Ted and Judy Price. We expect to be here five days. During our time here, we will visit with several other of my friends and I’ll do a couple of minor repairs and some maintenace items on the motorhome.

Picture
Our pretty and peaceful parking spot in Lacey, WA.

All original material Copyright – Jim Jaillet 2009
For more information about my three books, click this link:
http://www.panamaorbust.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

