Posted by: ramblinmanjimj | April 5, 2009

Historic Railroad Park 1897

Yesterday was a beautiful Spring day. Mary and I drove to Jamestown (about 20 miles from where she lives in Murphys) to buys some planting barrels for her yard. While there she took me to the Historic Railroad of 1897 Park. It was opening day and there were free rides for residents of California (since I’m a temporary resident, she got me on for free).

While on the train, I reminisced that the last time I was on a train was when I was 18 years old. Riding from Navy Boot Camp in Great Lakes, IL to home in MA for the Christmas Holidays. It was such a horrible experience (I nearly froze to death), it swore me off of trains forever. Unfortunately I had to take a train back to Great Lakes, IL after the holidays.

Mary has an interesting background with this park. About 25 years ago she authored a Grant request to the California State Legislature for more than one million dollars. It was approved.

This railroad is also very famous as it has been featured in more than 200 movies and television shows. Remember Petticoat Junction? That was one of them.

Picture
The Historic Park has the only Round House West of the Mississippi River.

Here’s an informational link:
http://www.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=491

All material Copyright – Jim Jaillet 2009
For more information about my three books, click this link:
http://www.panamaorbust.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

