Posted by: ramblinmanjimj | February 11, 2009

Mary’s lying thermometer?

In an earlier entry, I indicated that it has been many years since I’ve been in temperatures this cold and that is keeping Mary fitfully laughing. Especially when I tell her I believe her outside thermometer is lying.

Here are two photos to substantiate my beliefs.

In the below photo you can see the thermometer clearly reads 40 degrees and you can clearly see a heavy coat of frost on her porch rail and on the ground in the background.

Picture
40 degrees and heavy frost!

In this photo the thermometer is hidden by the porch railing. It was reading 50 degrees when the picnic table had just received a coating of sleet.

Picture
50 degrees and sleet on the table.

Mary and I have a very honest relationship together. However I just asked her if she had “adjusted” a set screw on the back of the thermometer to make it appear that the temperature is 10 degrees warmer than the actual temperature. She says no she hasn’t and I do believe her, but…..how come I do not remember 40 degrees being this cold???? I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that for the last 14 years I’ve managed to more or less stay in 65-80 degrees year round? Perhaps that does have something to do with it!

All material Copyright – Jim Jaillet 2008
For more information about my three books, click this link:
http://www.panamaorbust.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

