Posted by: ramblinmanjimj | November 16, 2008

A big hole in my life!

Picture
There’s a big hole in my life and it’s my engine compartment, with no engine!

From my book…”09/15- (Day 258) At Oaxaca. 6 AM temperature was 72 degrees. At 8:30 AM, the mechanics were back at it. Well, I do now have a better understanding of the problem. Once the engine was out of the motorhome, we could see that it was damaged beyond repair. For you technical types, here’s what we believe happened. When the broken piece of the fan blade cut the high pressure oil line, I was on a steep grade with no place to pull over. Between the time I realized I had a problem and was able to pull over, I had run the engine out of oil. The engine got so hot that it burned out some of the connecting rod and crankshaft bearings. When I restarted the engine after the fan blade and oil hose repairs, it was only a matter of time (like 30 minutes), before the crankshaft and engine block bearing surfaces scored and cracked. So much for the luck brought by four-leaf clovers! Now I must look into the alternatives, none which look very good! To complicate my efforts, tomorrow is Independence Day (similar to our July Fourth), and everything will be closed, so I will continue searching my alternatives on Friday. Work on Bud’s rig continues. Bob was doing his own thing, so Bud and I had happy hour at a local bar. You can’t let a little thing like this stop happy hour! The afternoon high temperature was 82 degrees.”

All material Copyright – Jim Jaillet 2008
For more information about my three books, click this link:
http://www.panamaorbust.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

