Posted by: ramblinmanjimj | November 10, 2008

Adios, Guatemala!

Picture
Unfortunately, this is an all too common sight in Central America.
Picture
This is also a common sight in Central America.

From my book…’08/30- (Day 242) At La Mesilla. 6 AM temperature was 71 degrees. On the road at 8 AM. After 19 days and 334 miles in Guatemala, and after 181 days and 4,460 miles in the seven countries of Central America, we reached the Mexican Border at 8:30 AM. Four hours later we finished our border-crossing requirements. Immediately, I felt a “sudden release of tension” that I did not realize was there. I suspect it was of a subconscious sort of thing, associated with all the reading and things I’ve heard about the “dangers” of Central America. When I crossed into Mexico, I felt I had “returned home,” and felt completely at ease. Mexico will rank #1 as the “best country” of the entire trip. Of the Central America countries, Nicaragua is my #1 favorite country. I’ll tell you why in my final trip report.’

All material Copyright – Jim Jaillet 2008
For more information about my three books, click this link:
http://www.panamaorbust.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

