Posted by: ramblinmanjimj | October 12, 2008

A unique offer named Jasmin!

Picture
Jasmin with three of her five siblings in their home. Her mother declined to be in the picture because she was embarrassed by her appearance.

From my book…’At 10 AM, Joe and his girlfriend, Ereseli, came by to pick me up. Joe said he wanted to show me the house he is building on his oceanfront lot, and Ereseli said she wanted me to meet her 19-year old girlfriend, Jasmin, who lives near where Joe is building his house. Ereseli wants to fix me up with Jasmin! If you remember, I told you Joe is 68 and Ereseli is 20! Unfortunately, here all a woman has to look forward to is marrying a guy who works cutting sugarcane for $4 a day. Then he (the husband) comes back to town from work, gets drunk with his buddies, then goes home and beats his wife, whom he ultimately ends up deserting. You see it everywhere down here. There are many young women with several children, living in terrible poverty, with no husband. It’s a truly sad situation, but it is also a fact of life. So, if a gal can happen to find a gringo, with a few bucks, who won’t beat her up, he is a real find! Joe’s lot is only about ten miles out of town, but the roads are terrible, and it took us an hour to get there. Just before we arrived, Jasmin (in Spanish is pronounced hahs-MEEN), was waiting for us in front of her home. She is indeed a beautiful gal, and I’m having a hard time remembering that I’m 64 years old! In the United States, a 19-year old gal won’t even talk to me, never mind be very friendly! A little further down the road, we reach Joe’s place, and it is a most idyllic setting. It is about two acres with perhaps 300 feet of Pacific Ocean waterfront. He told me that when his 1,400 square foot house is finished, including the land, the total will come to about $35,000 in U.S. money. After several hours, we started back toward town, and stopped at Jasmin’s home to meet her family. They live in a three-sided, palm-thatched palapa, with no electricity, or plumbing. Jasmin is the oldest of six children. Her mom is about 40, and, of course, with no husband. How this poor woman manages to live and take care of six children is beyond me. Despite their obviously poor financial situation, I’m amazed at how clean everything is, including the children. Ereseli asked me what I thought of Jasmin and I replied that I thought she was very pretty and nice, while thinking to myself, “What would I do with a 19-year old girlfriend?” One thing obviously comes to mind, but after that I can think of no other answers!’

All material Copyright – Jim Jaillet 2008
For more information about my three books, click this link:
http://www.panamaorbust.com

Responses

  1. […] the rest of this superb post right here No tags for this […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

